Wednesday, August 12, 2015



The Centre for Values in Leadership (CVL) under its Leader Without Title [LWT] monthly Colloquium will on Thursday, 27th of August 2015 hold a Tribute Colloquium in honour of Dr Bruce Onobrakpeya and Mr. Fred Agbeyegbe to commemorate their 83rd and 80th birthdays respectively. The Event will take place at CVL Building, 6 Balarabe Musa Crescent, Victoria Island, Lagos from 2pm -6pm. The event is to honour the two art icons for their contributions to the development of Art in Nigeria. Dr. Onobrakpeya is Africa’s most important printmaker and Mr Agbeyegbe is a foremost dramatist in Nigeria.
Ahead of the Colloquium, a one week exhibition of the best of Dr. Onobrakpeya’s artworks and paintings will be open to the public from the 20th – 27th of August from 9am – 5pm at CVL Building. Works consisting of metal foil pieces, prints, serigraphs, plastocasts, sculptures and paintings dating back to over 5 decades of his career would be showcased in the week-long exhibition.

The theme of the colloquium is: Art As Bandage and the panel of discussants include: Prince Yemisi Adedoyin Shyllon (Founder, OYASAF), Mr. Kolade Oshinowo (Veteran Artist, Master Painter and Portraitist), Mrs. Nike Davies Okundaye (Founder, Nike Art Gallery), Mrs. Bolanle Austen-Peters (Founder/CEO, Terra Kulture) and Mrs. Melinda Akinlami (Senior Presenter & Producer, Art House, Channels Television). Prof Pat Utomi, the Founder of CVL will moderate the Colloquium.

In the 24th Leader Without Title Colloquium, CVL honoured Chief (Dr) Ernest Shonekan for his contribution to the growth of Public-Private Partnership in Nigeria. The conclusion of the panel discussion at the event agreed that for Nigeria to have a meaningful development, there is urgent need for the public and private sectors as well as development partners in the country to work together.

Other distinguished persons honoured in the past under the LWT Colloquium are: Mr. Akintola Williams, Dr. Michael Omolayole, Alhaji Ahmed Joda, Mr. Richard Kramer, Chief Ernest Shonekan, Chief Chris Ogunbanjo, Prof. (Mrs.) Oyinade Elebute, Chief Folake Solanke, Elder Felix Ohiwerei, Dr. Gamaliel Onosode, Chief Philip Asiodu, Chief Emeka Anyaoku, Dr. Christopher Kolade, Prof Grace Alele-Williams, Mrs. Taiwo Ajai-Lycett, Chief Festus Marinho, Dr. Thomas John, Prof Itse Sagay, Alhaji Rasak Akanni Okoya, Pastor Shyngle Wigwe, Engr Vincent Maduka, Dr. Emmanuel Egbogah, , Chief Arthur Mbanefo, Chief Michael Ade.Ojo, Otunba Michael Balogun, Dr. Pascal Dozie, Dr. Alex Ekwueme and Mr. Martin Ikediashi. A post-humus LWT was also organized in honour of late Prof Chinua Achebe.

CVL initiated the Leader Without Title (LWT) Leadership Tribute Colloquium to honour outstanding sector leaders for their special contributions in the sector where they worked. The LWT programme is in keeping with CVL’s commitment to affect the generation next to be leaders without care for title. It is an honour for people who are 70 years and above who have left a mark worth emulating.

Nwaulu Modestus
Project Team Lead